Guggenheim

18 Oct

I wanted to discuss the Guggenheim museum located in Venice, Italy.  Peggy Guggenheim is such an interesting global figure, especially within the art world.  She was American, born in New York to a very wealthy family.  Her father, Benjamin Guggenheim was killed in the sinking of The Titanic and inherited her fortune from him, but it was her uncle’s foundation, Soloman R. Guggenheim, who started the Guggenheim foundation.  It was in a bookstore when Peggy first became captivated by the world of art.

Venice, Italy, itself is a fascinating geography, but what I’m interested in is focusing on the Guggenheim estate, (now a museum), located in Venice.  But I can’t really discuss my experience of visiting the museum without connecting it to the obscure layout and haunting architecture of Venice.

I have been to Venice on many occasions as it is only a two hour train ride from my family located in Montecchia Di Crosara.  Every time I visit Venice, I find myself not only lost in the romanticism and enchantment of the city, but actually lost.  The city is incredibly difficult to navigate and because it is surrounded by water, you find yourself hitting dead ends often and just having to turn around and retrace your steps.

It was just this last summer that I actually found the Guggenheim, although if I really wanted to find it, I suppose I could have looked harder or just asked, but I guess what I really like doing when I’m there is getting lost.  I believe that is the best way to enjoy such a city.

Anyway, the Guggenheim was once the house of Peggy Guggenheim and has now been transformed into a museum with her wonderful collection of art.  Though the art is quite impressive and wonderful to see, what I found equally interesting, were the photographs of Peggy in each of the rooms when it was her home.  It was neat to see the way she was living there and then to look around and to see how it is now laid out as a museum.

It’s amazing to see her just lounging among these priceless works of art…

Leave a Reply

