Five Faves

15 Dec

First five things that come to mind when I think back to class:

1. Ali’s favorite artist (the dessert obsessed guy) – everyone loves desserts!  i will definitely want to use him as a reference in the future.  Also, your last lesson was so great!  Thanks Ali!

2. Roxanna’s Italian food workshop – Roxie inspired me to do a food workshop with her Julia Child impression!  Even though I don’t normally cook very much, I had to, in order to prepare for my workshop.  And while I was doing it, I really did understand what Roxanna was talking about when she said she finds peace and creativity through cooking.  I enjoyed the small steps during the whole thing–how the food looks, the therapeutic effect of chopping and cutting, etc.  Thanks Roxanna!  For the classroom, I could think of so many different ways food can be incorporated–the role of food in culture, manners of eating in different cultures just to name a couple.

3. Jasmine’s favorite artist (the Japanese pop artist) – I used to have a slight obsession with Japanese culture a couple years ago, and I don’t know why I stopped, because it’s so interesting and there are so many ways to engage students in the art classroom through it.  I really appreciate Japanese aesthetics–traditional and contemporary.  Thanks for bringing it back for me, Jas!

4. Carolyn’s hip hop artist – I think I remember this especially because it was kind of unexpected to have Carolyn share about hip hop 🙂  Hip Hop activism is a good way to be relevant to kids but also in a positive way.  I think it could be a really good conversation to have about what messages are sent through mainstream hip hop and how music can be overturned and reinvented.

5. Drea’s rooftop garden project with students – it was cool to see the development of the project and i especially liked looking through the binder with the kids’ poems of themselves as a part of nature.  just to see the different stages/results of a real project was pretty inspirational!

-irene

Leave a Reply

